The Red Cross movement was born to provide medical assistance to the wounded soldiers on the battlefield as a result of war in the year 1859 between France and Italy on one side and Austria on the other. The crusading spirit of Jean Henry Dunant lead to the establishment of Red Cross in the year 1863. Later International Committee of the Red Cross, International Federation of Red Cross and National Red Cross Societies were established all over the World.

Indian Red Cross society is a National Federation of over 700 Red Cross Branches.Indian Red Cross Society aims to inspire, encourage and initiate at all times humanitarian activities so that, human sufferings be minimized or alleviated, even prevented and thus contribute to creating a more congenial climate for peace.

Indian Red Cross Society was established in the year 1920 under Central  Act XV of 1920 and Karnataka State Branch was established in 1921 during the regime of Maharaja of Mysore. His Highness Sri.Nalwadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar, the then Maharaja of Mysore was the founder Patron and His Highness Sri.Kanteerava Narasimharaja Wodeyar was the First President of Indian Red Cross Society, Karnataka State Branch. His Excellency the President of India is the President of IRCS, NHQ, New Delhi and His Excellency the Governor of Karnataka is the President of IRCS, Karnataka State Branch.Bangalore The Deputy Commissioners are the Presidents of District Branches and the Assistant Commissioners or Tahasildars at the Taluk level.

Indian Red Cross Society has adopted seven fundamental principles of Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary Service, Unity and Universality.